In Lord Muruga’s Hands

     Whew, my first post! This was my first published short essay in the year 2016. It was of the Hindu God, Lord Muruga. I grew up around this temple as my father is the priest there. Please visit if you happen to pass by it. Enjoy and please comment! WARNING: Very biased towards Hinduism.

The earliest memory I have of living at this temple was when l was four years old. I was on my father’s shoulders, half asleep and half awake. There was nobody else at the temple. When everything was silent, the bells and drums rung loudly. I put my hands over my ears. That was when I started putting all my faith and trust in Lord Muruga.

Murugan Temple of North America is the first temple in the USA dedicated to the Tamil God, Lord Muruga, with the big celebration in 1999. Many people from around the world visit our temple to seek the blessings of Lord Muruga. Our temple emphasizes the beauty of the Tamil language. Every second and fourth Sunday. many kids from the metropolitan DC area come to learn the history and significance of Tamil. We all join together and learn lots of bhajans (devotional songs) to sing to the deities. We try to understand the meaning behind the lyrics. Now I have many friends with whom I share the same beliefs and culture. I also learn yoga, which helps me relax and relieve the stress from school. Many kids who were born in the US don’t know how to
read, speak and write the Tamil language. I know that this temple can help preserve the Tamil culture for a very long time.

There are many festivals in which we celebrate Lord Muruga and some of the other deities. Some of the festivals include Nallur Kathirgamam Kanthan Festival, Navarathri, and Vinayakar Chaturthi. During the Nallur Festival, many Sri Lankans, Malaysians, Indians, and other Tamilians come from various places such as New York and Canada. The temple is colorfully decorated with vivid fabric and arts. People pray, fast and take Paal Kudam and Kavadi that day. A variety of loud
instruments and songs can be heard as Lord Muruga sits on top of an elegant chariot and goes on a procession around the temple, and Lord Muruga’s blessings can be felt by everyone. Another festival celebrated with devotion and joy is Navarathri: a ten-day festival where nine to ten different forms of Goddess Devi are worshiped. Every day, the devotees worship the different variations of Goddess Devi. Songs praising Her can be heard throughout the temple. Navarathri brings new beginnings for many people. The priests put in so much time and effort to make sure the temple is neat and orderly and the deities are happy so that we won’t come across any disasters.
We are all lucky to have very kindhearted priests who make a difference in a number of people’s lives. As a devotee, I have been visiting this temple for about eleven years now. Every day. I thank Lord Muruga for all that He has done for me, whether it is for giving me this life or helping me with an exam. And without fail, He has always guided me. Despite the

As a devotee, I have been visiting this temple for about eleven years now. Every day. I thank Lord Muruga for all that He has done for me, whether it is for giving me this life or helping me with an exam. And without fail, He has always guided me. Despite the mistakes, I may have made without even knowing He has given me lots of opportunities where I can redeem myself. I know that everything that enters my life is because of Him and everything that leaves my life is also because of Him. If you visit the temple and take a few minutes to sit down and meditate, you
can, unquestionably, feel Lord Muruga’s power (shakthi). Developing good. devotional habits and worshipping Lord Muruga can help us overcome the forces of darkness. I am very fortunate to be able to live right on the temple premises. I am also blessed that I have a wonderfiilly thriving community. Many families, including mine. cannot go back to their homeland to join a festival but we are blessed that there are temples nearby where we can celebrate and worship God easily. It is our duty to serve God. our parents and society. We should always remember to pass our traditions and culture to the next generation. We need to understand that Lord Murugan is within us and our willpower is what can make a change.

I am very fortunate to be able to live right on the temple premises. I am also blessed that I have a wonderfully thriving community. Many families, including mine. cannot go back to their homeland to join a festival but we are blessed that there are temples nearby where we can celebrate and worship God easily. It is our duty to serve God. our parents and society. We should always remember to pass our traditions and culture to the next generation. We need to understand that Lord Murugan is within us and our willpower is what can make a change.

Keep your Heart Happy!

Contact

 

Leave a Reply

